EPA 608 Certification Exam

EPA Exam

As of November 14, 1994

The Federal Clean Air Act requires that all persons who maintain, service, repair, or dispose of equipment that contain regulated refrigerants, be certified in proper refrigerant handling techniques

There are four (4) categories of technician EPA 608 certification


Those who service or repair small appliances


Those who service or repair of high or very high-pressure appliances


Those who maintain, service of low-pressure appliances


Those People who maintain, service both low and high-pressure equipment, as well as small appliances, must be certified as Universal.

Note: None of the above allows service for Automobile air conditioning that would fall under the EPA 609 certification a completely different exam.


The test contains four sections, Core – Type I, II and III. Each section contains twenty five (25) multiple-choice questions.

Technician must achieve a minimum passing score of 70 percent in each group in which they are to be certified.

The Core Section contains 25 general knowledge questions rules and regulations of the Clean Air Act

A person must pass Core and at least one of the type categories to receive a certification

Students should carefully study Core and the Type of certification in which they are seeking to achieve.